Fairfield County Board of Commissioners

A Proclamation Recognizing 911 Telecommunicators as First Responders in Fairfield County, Ohio

WHEREAS, it is the pleasant responsibility of the Fairfield County Board of Commissioners to recognize people and organizations of outstanding achievement and significance; and

WHEREAS, 911 Telecommunicators, commonly known as dispatchers, are the calm and knowledgeable voices that guide callers through life-threatening emergencies; providing critical, life-saving instruction while coordinating with police, fire, and EMS response; and

WHEREAS, 911 Telecommunicators are the first point of contact in virtually every emergency, bearing the responsibility of interpreting chaos, offering reassurance, and facilitating rapid deployment of appropriate response resources; and

WHEREAS, these professionals, like other first responders, sacrifice their nights, weekends, and holidays to serve the public—often without recognition and while enduring the emotional burden that comes from constant exposure to trauma and crisis; and

WHEREAS, 911 Telecommunicators are currently classified in Ohio under clerical designations, which fails to reflect the rigorous training, psychological toll, and essential emergency functions they perform; and

WHEREAS, recognizing these professionals as First Responders is not merely symbolic, but vital to ensuring access to resources such as mental health support, specialized training, and the respect that comes with the critical nature of their work.

NOW THEREFORE, the Fairfield County Board of Commissioners do hereby formally declare its respect for and recognition of:

911 Telecommunicators as First Responders in Fairfield County, Ohio

The Board of Commissioners thank 911 Telecommunicators and other first responders for their heroic and life -saving role in public safety.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have hereunto subscribed our names and caused the seal of the County of Fairfield to be affixed to this Proclamation on the 10th day of June in the Year of Our Lord, Two Thousand and Twenty-Five.

Jeffrey M. Fix Commissioner Steven A. Davis Commissioner David L. Levacy Commissioner